Astrology and Wise Men

Astrology has always intrigued me. Can we read messages in the stars? See glimpses of the future? Do our zodiac signs truly infer something about us? Can messages from the galaxies align with the Bible? I wouldn’t be surprised if there is some – if not much – truth in the stars above.

~~~

I am the second youngest of my seven siblings. My father is a tradesman of spices and herbs. My mother died in child birth when my sister was born eight years ago. Of course, when it came time for me to begin my path of life, my father assumed I would join him and my brothers with his trade. That was the last thing I wanted to do.

From since I can remember, I have gazed at the stars every night; wanting to know more, wanting to explore the black space of lights and movements. 

My father would interrupt my evening musings by reading the law of Moses to our family, a routine that he felt inclined to keep after my mother had passed. On the Sabbath, though, he would read a psalm of David. Those were usually lively enough to keep my thoughts from drifting to the shining lights above. 

Didn’t he realize that the vastness of the night sky made me more spiritually alive than his dull, dry readings ever could?

Despite our many arguments, my father had determined I would be following him in his footsteps whether I wanted to or not. It wasn’t like there was anything else I was qualified to do. Grudgingly, every day for two years, I spent the majority of my days learning about spices for cooking, medicinal use, fragrances and the like. It was dreary, seemingly useless knowledge. My four other brothers didn’t seem to mind though. Three of them married with children and one in courtship, they had other things to occupy their time outside of this brainless work. 

Me, on the other hand, spent every free moment looking at the sky. Even in the day light – the placement of the sun, a glimpse of the moon in early mornings before it sleeps, the first twinkle of a star before the rest of the night glows. The clouds even had something to say! And I was going to explode if my life consisted of nothing more than explaining to a buyer the benefits of turmeric in their evening tea. 

One day we traveled into the market with our small caravan of jars and bottles to sell, and I knew the day held something new. Even the stars the night before glimmered with a secret. 

We set up shop on the side of the road where we were bound to be met with all sorts of interested customers. I was arranging the herbs when a shadow covered the table. I glanced up and I knew my eyes must have been as wide and round as two full moons. Two men with tall turbans wearing grey cloaks and yellow shawls stood in front of me. They didn’t appear to be scribes or priests, in fact, I had no idea what they were!

I inwardly composed myself and asked how I could help them. In a thick accent, one explained how they were looking for the best herbs and spices they could purchase. He said it must be worthy enough for that of a king. 

Turning to the shelves behind me, I grabbed a bottle of the most expensive oil from the top shelf. I set it on the table before grabbing a sprouting seedling from the side of the caravan. “This oil cannot be found more pure or fragrant than it is here. It is frankincense from the boswellia tree. This seedling, though small now, is from the best line of myrrh plants available in this region.” 

He said, “we have heard of your father and the integrity of his sales. Do you have more frankincense available for purchase?” 

“Just one more bottle,” I responded. 

I named the total cost and he nodded his head to package up the goods.

“Are you visiting King Herod?” I inquired. 

A small smirk appeared as quickly as it disappeared on the man’s face. “We are preparing for the prophesied King of the Jews.” 

This time I had to smirk. “That prophesy is hundreds of years old. Why prepare now?” 
“Though people have spoken of this prophecy for years and years, the skies are now beginning to proclaim it as well.”

My mind reeled. “You… you read the stars?!”

“By the grace of Yahweh.” 

I couldn’t hold back my excitement. Before I could think, I blurted out, “can I join? Can I learn how to read the stars?”  

Both of their eyes widened. The one who had yet to say anything seemed to stifle a laugh. 

“It would seem you are not of the typical background to join the magistrates.” 

“I can learn! I would do whatever is required.” I had never known there was a specific group of people doing exactly what I had dreamed of doing. 
~
July 3 B.C.
As the youngest of the magistrates, I am still gaining the respect that the elders hold. When they walk through the streets, the people pause and allow them to pass. Some will even bow! I cannot wait until I attain that same status! 

Typically, a magus gains his credential with time. Time meticulously spent gazing at the heavens, carefully tracking the stars and planets. There are few magis who translate the heavens into prophecies and foreshadowings of future events. Oh, to have that ability! 
The fact I am even part of the magi in Persia still astonishes me. It was exactly one year ago I convinced Gaspar and Melchior to allow me to join their studies. I had to convince my father too. Much to my surprise, he relented and blessed my journey. 

Melchior has become a mentor to me in many ways. He reminds me of the One who made the stars. He constantly talks about praising the Creator and not the created. I often hear him singing psalms.

“O LORD, our lord,how majestic is your name in all the earth!You have set your glory above the heavens…When I look at your heavens, the work of your fingers, the moon and the stars, which you have set in place,what is man that you are mindful of him,and the son of man that you care for him?”

Melchior has also taught me the star groupings, names and supposed explanations and meanings. So far my favorite is Pleiades.

As I watch the stars tonight, a couple seem to twinkle as if winking at me. “Tell me your secret!” I whisper into the darkness. 
~
August 3 B.C.
“There’s something happening!” I gasp for fresh air in the archway of Gaspar’s home. Beads of perspiration dripped down my face after having sprinted from my perch in the fields.

Gaspar, Melchior and Balthasar look up from their evening meal. “What’s the matter, boy?”

“There’s a light – a light brighter than I’ve ever seen!”

They quickly stood and joined me outside. There was no need to point. A bright light shone from the eastern part of the sky.

Balthasar let out a chuckle. “It appears the time has arrived! Have the servants begin to pack. It is time!” 

Gaspar and Melchior stood with smiles on their faces. “Praise be to the LORD!” 

“What’s happening? Where are we going?” 

Melchior turned to me. “The prophecy is being fulfilled.” He turned back to the sky. “Look closer and tell me what you see.” 

I looked back up at the bright light. “It looks like a planet has lit up!” 

“You’re not far off. Measure where it is at.” 

It was almost hard to look with the brightness glaring back at me. “Leo! The planet is in Leo the Lion!” 

“Just one planet?” He questioned. 

I squinted, “No… Jupiter and Venus! Have they aligned?”

“It seems my teaching has paid off.” 

“The Lion of Judah!” Gaspar breathed, “the  nation of Israel will be saved!” 

A strong peace and joy overflowed my whole being. Surely we were witnessing a masterpiece that only God could have formed in the sky. 

I laid in the field that night, and every night until we began our travels, falling asleep staring at the beautiful sign the Creator had painted.
~
September 3 B.C.
We started our trek one week ago. Our herd of camels, the 11 magi (myself included) and 20 servants made for quite the commotion amongst the one town we have travelled through so far. I can only imagine what they must think!

A couple days ago, the light changed. Jupiter and Regulas met. Regulas is the brightest star in Leo. With Jupiter being the largest planet in our solar system and Regulas being viewed as the most important star in Leo – our anticipation continues to grow each day! 
~
June 2 B.C.
My feet ache, dust fills my ears and, yet, my heart is full of wonder and excitement. Tonight was another conjunction of Jupiter and Venus in Leo. 

Melchior joined me with a grin. “It has been nine months since we first saw Jupiter and Regulas align. Should be enough time for the birth of a King!” He clapped his hands as if he needed to let out praise to the King he had yet to meet!

Our travels had been met with minimal difficulty. And, to my benefit, the ten magistrates constantly taught me their knowledge of the heavenly bodies. I still could hardly believe this was my life. 

I prayed I would be like the prophet Daniel described 500 years ago, “…those who are wise shall shine like the brightness of the sky above; and those who turn many to righteousness, like the stars forever and ever.”
~
December 2 B.C.
Chills ran down my spine. I had never felt so uncomfortable. King Herod had charged our group to return with information of the child to be King of the Jews. Something didn’t sit right about the whole ordeal, but our caravan group continued on toward the light.
I asked Melchior if they still had the frankincense and myrrh from over a year ago. He smiled, “yes, we have collected much frankincense, myrrh and gold to present as gifts.” 

“Will we be there soon?”

“Soon enough! I suspect a few more days of travel before we reach our destination.” 

“The light is changing, you know?” I spoke softly, still unsure being the youngest magus of the group.

“I’ve noticed some difference too. It appears God continues to speak to us.” 
~
Five days later, we made camp in the evening. We had reached the light! Miraculously, Jupiter had travelled to stand in Virgo! As if the prophecy of the virgin wasn’t enough, the heavens declared it as well!

All of us, including the servants, rejoiced and praised God the whole night long. We would not disturb the young parents and babe until the morning light. 
“He determines the number of stars; he gives to all of them their names.Great is our Lord, and abundant in power;his understanding is beyond measure.”
~
June 19 A.D.
It has been several years since the birth of King Jesus. Being able to follow His signs in the sky those many years ago has never ceased to amaze me. 

The law my father would read to me rings loudly in my ears when it had once lulled me to sleep. “And beware lest you raise your eyes to heaven, and when you see the sun and the moon and the stars, all the host of heaven, you be drawn away and bow down to them and serve them, things that the LORD your God has allotted to all the peoples under the whole heaven.”

As with most things in life, there is beauty and danger in the study of the stars. Lack of discernment has stolen the souls of many friends. It would have taken mine if not for the grace of God.

Looking up at the night sky, I cannot help but to sing. What better way to express the gratitude that comes from viewing the never-ending universe? Or the humility of knowing this large expanse cannot contain our God?

“The heavens declare the glory of God, and the sky above proclaims his handiwork.”

Published by millennialmsg

• Crunchy Mama and Breadwinner. • Hubby is SAHD for our three boys. • BA in Psychology with Biblical Studies minor. • MBA with focus on Strategy and Leadership. • From articles, memes, short stories, quotes - you can expect a variety of information to entertain and challenge you! • Writing is my preference, but you can listen to my podcast at https://anchor.fm/shalisa-rothenburg

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started