Excitement for Exodus

The second book in the Bible isn’t typically my go-to read. I don’t feel my heart stir with wisdom (Ex 35:26) after reading about the wanderings in the wilderness.

I know I’m not alone 😉 Most Christians haven’t spent much time in the OT, especially when NT epistles are quicker and easier to read. And, we are living in the culture of quick and easy!

Having recently finished reading Exodus (it only took me three months 😅), I felt something different. I assume it’s because it took me so long to read. I wasn’t trying to follow a plan, read a chapter a day or get it over with to move on to the next book. I was going slooowww 🐌

Moses writes an unfolding introduction of God Himself. We meet Provider/Jirah (1:21), Sees/Roi (2:25), I AM/Yahweh (3:14), Banner/Nissi (17:15), Jealous/Qanna (20:5; 34;14), Gracious/Channun (22:27), Consuming Fire/Akal Esh (24:17) and Sanctifies/Mekkodishkem (31:13).

Moses records God giving His people a little introduction as well: warriors in His army and members of His family (7:4). We see a beautiful blend of this in 17:12. Because Moses had Aaron and Hur supporting his raised arms to God, Joshua wins the battle against Amalek. This parallels nicely with our need for spiritual family and fellowship.

We learn a lot about the Israelites and the cycles we ourselves are inclined to repeat: cry to God -> saved by God -> complain about God -> punished by God -> and again. Anyone see that in their own life? 🙋‍♀️

Not surprisingly, we also learn how to break the cycle: “stand still, and see the salvation of the LORD” (14:13). Don’t continue in your unfaithfulness. Stand still. Wait. Then go forward on His promises (14:15).

I don’t know if we’ll ever experience our faces shining like Moses’ (34:29) here on earth, but we should shine with confidence and boldness as the LORD fights for us (14:14).

As I lingered in Exodus, I could feel my heart stirring (35:21). Stirring to obey (39:42), to be holy (22:31) and to be able (18:21).

Maybe Exodus can bring excitement if we’re willing to wander in the wilderness of this otherworldly wisdom.

Exodus 39:42

Published by millennialmsg

• Crunchy Mama and Breadwinner. • Hubby is SAHD for our three boys. • BA in Psychology with Biblical Studies minor. • MBA with focus on Strategy and Leadership. • From articles, memes, short stories, quotes - you can expect a variety of information to entertain and challenge you! • Writing is my preference, but you can listen to my podcast at https://anchor.fm/shalisa-rothenburg

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started