The Apostle Paul

I have been wanting to write about this guy for awhile. He is one of my favorite authors. I fear that what I write may be an injustice to his life’s work. For that I say, may God’s grace cover me 😅🙌

Paul wrote in 2 Corinthians 12 about struggling with “a thorn in his flesh.” We are left in the dark about what that thorn may have been.

More than likely, Paul struggled with a physical ailment. From what I have researched, he may have been going blind.

But the phrase “messenger of Satan” makes me wonder if a lie was continually whispered to his inner being; if his mind’s battlefield was never given rest.

Paul must have inacted all the prayer tactics – three times – before concluding that God would provide the daily grace needed to overcome this thorn.

I so wish to know his ailment! And, I can’t help but to imagine…

Could it have been something trending in our current-day society? (I think of depression & anxiety or mental health)

Could Paul have been attracted to men? We often attack this apostle for speaking too harshly against same-sex relations. But could he have swung that way just as easily as you or I?

I obviously can’t say for certain his thorn, be it blindness, anxiety or same-sex attraction. But Paul’s submission to God certainly sheds light on my own thorn of serving my emotions and feelings.

How easily my desires become my gods! And, in turn, how quickly Christ is pushed to the side.

Paul submitted even when God’s answer was “no” to his request for healing. Can I say the same?

2 Corinthians 12:9

Published by millennialmsg

• Crunchy Mama and Breadwinner. • Hubby is SAHD for our three boys. • BA in Psychology with Biblical Studies minor. • MBA with focus on Strategy and Leadership. • From articles, memes, short stories, quotes - you can expect a variety of information to entertain and challenge you! • Writing is my preference, but you can listen to my podcast at https://anchor.fm/shalisa-rothenburg

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started